The Journal of Dreams 01/21/2010

I spent the majority of the day looking at the faces of lions, calf’s, and eagles.  These are extremely beautiful animals!  I also researched meaning and perceived meanings of The Four Living Creatures.  I found other parts where they are mentioned but the description is different.  I am wondering what these creatures truly represent but more so wondering what my personal connection to them are.  These are the creatures I have dreamed about since I was a child and through all the photos I have searched, there are no similarities from any other artist’ that come close to what I imagined they look like.

I learned a lot from painting the black horse and being unprepared.  I cannot repaint the creatures over and over because I am using real feathers for their wings in some places.  It seems like all the art I have done throughout my life is somehow tied to this painting.  I used feathers in several paintings depicting angels of one sort or another.  Feathers are hard to manage, you have to put down an adhesive and gently work the feather into it with a stiff brush to capture the detail of each individual line which make up the feather itself.  They are very delicate and need patience which is a lacking attribute for me.

Painting eyes on feathers might pose a critical problem.  Even placing the feathers might cause degradation after time since they are carbon based (once living).  Hopefully the lacquer will seal them forever leaving minimal opportunity for deterioration.  I might consider painting feathers under them in case they deteriorate.  White feathers are the best, then from what I learned about highlighting to created depth in texture from the sky, I can color them grey, or other colors and the white is like fresh, white canvas allowing the actual color to show in its brilliant and true pigment.

Leave a comment